After a busy, yet exciting week, we reveal this year’s winners.
Congratulations to the winners and big thanks to everyone who made this 4th edition possible.
Best Romanian Short: You were not there, director: Ioana Agatha Păltinel
For the convincing manner in which the film raises the issue of how we refer to our communist heritage and to the prison torturers who, following the Revolution, continued on living unperturbed.
Best picture: Raul Fernandez, The Call, France
For the wonderfully expressive image; for the manner in which the visual, chromatics and special effects contribute towards an atmosphere that combines the entrancing with the terrifying.
Best editing: José Luis Romeu, Ashen, Spain
For the ingenious way in which editing know-how is used to make the transition from reality to fantasy and to aid in telling a story that is profoundly humane and serene.
Best female role: Cristina Perales, In Self Defense, Spain
For a witty and nuanced interpretation of the part of a woman who finds herself on the brink of a profound personal crisis.
Best male role: Gérard Dessalles, The Prime of Life, France
For a powerful interpretation and for an expressive roleplay, for the actor’s outstanding physical presence
Best script: Baptiste Bertheuil, The Greenberry Method, France & Germany
For the ingenuity of the created scene, for the narrative’s sustained rhythm and for the coherent ethical problems raised under the semblance of humour and grotesque.
Best sound: Adel Gamehdar and Raoul Brand, The Translator, UK & Turkey
For the precision with which a diverse

range of sounds are combined, for the ability to weave a complex acoustic atmosphere, meant to be perceived only by a very attentive ear.

Best director: Oriol Cardus, 600 $, Spain
For the vigor with which the director was able to control the essential aspects of his film: screenplay, roleplay, editing, uniting them in an integrated project of a grand cinematic mastery.
Best student film: Last Train Home, director: Ansgar Glatt, Germany
For the professionalism and creativity with which this open ending drama was accomplished that manages to keep the audience on the edge of their seat even past the film credits.
Best documentary: Space with no borders, director: Roman Trtofimov, Russia
Because the narrative and visual means with which this documentary has been put together are worthy of an action film, creating a delightfully plastic portrait.
Best animation: Travel by Feet, director: Khris Cembe, Spain
For its dark and sadistic humour, for the vivacity of the animated characters and for the way in which the ending twist completely boggles the audience.
The Jury Prize: Naive Elisa, director: Antonio Cardenas Gaehd, Mexico
For the quality of the fictional atmosphere and for the angst which transpires through a remarkably plastic image.
The Dada 100 Trophy for best experimental film: Freedom and Independence, director: Bjorn Melhus, Germany
For the ease with which it questions social conventions, for the irony and tragedy which arise in selected sequences, for the experimental breaches it proposes.
ClujShorts Trophy: Champion, director: Måns Berthas, Sweden
For the ability to portray an awfully dramatic story without the use of any words, for the exceptional quality of image and sound, for the remarkable roleplay and for the flawless attention

to every single detail.

The Persona Association Award: Without milk, director: Thodoris Vournas, Greece
And the motivation is quite simple: we were able to find ourselves in the truthfulness of the story, in the tragic comedy about great ideals, hard work and the cruel reality of necessary compromise in the face of accomplishing one’s dream is.