The final decision has been made: 54 out of 181 selected films will enter  the Cluj Shorts 2016 Official Competition for the ClujShorts Trophy. The complete list can be found here. The decision has been far from easy. „All 181 films are of an excellent cinematic quality. However, for the competition, we searched deeper. We valued attention for detail, how well the ideas behind it have transcended the film and the boldeness to transgress the conventional”, said Rareș Stoica, artisitic director for ClujShorts.

As for the jury members, already veterans at ClujShorts, they will have the difficult task to select the best shorts from the 54 films in the official competition. In 2016, ClujShorts jury will be under the careful coordination of  Dr. Ioan Pop-Curseu, president of the jury, distinguished professor and researcher of literature and film. With him, the other members of the jury are: Gabor Xantus, distinguished documentary producer and a scholar in the cinematic arts, Sergiu Matei, Emmy award winnig and world-wide known cameraman and, strating this year: Francisc Koos; Engineer, sound designer. He has studies of mathematics, electronics, music and film, an entire life spent in between technology and art. He is the creator of the soundtrack of many artistic films and animations (Through the Ashes of the Empire, Pintea, The Youth Elixir etc.) He had fruitful collaborations with film directors such as Ion Popescu Gopo, Andrei Blaier, Mircea Mureșan, Mircea Veroiu, Iosif Demian etc. He is the creator of the first music synthesizer (Moog) and sound effects in Romania (1975), this technology being used afterwards at Buftea Studios as well as in animation films. He’s the author of a number of articles and patents in the field of electronics and sound processing. He teaches at the Institute of Polytechnics in Cluj-Napoca, Faculty of Electronics and Telecommunications. His present-day research focuses on the field of visual perception in relation to that of sound and the interpenetration of sound stream and images.

The public and the Cluj media will play an extremely important part at ClujShorts, as all 181 films will enter the Cluj Shorts 2016 Official Competition for the Audience Award and the Cluj Press Award (Vasile Hotea-Fernezan president,  Demostene Șofron, Cătălin Bogdan, Claudiu Pădurean, Oana Grigorescu, Ioan-Pavel Azap, Tiberiu Fărcaș) Furthermore, the Persona Association (producer and organizer of ClujShorts) will also grant a Special award for the production which manages to reunite in an original manner the central elements of the Persona Association: the passion for health, culture and people. (Complete list of awards you will find here, paragraf 5, Awards ).

In 2016 the competition will be a close one. However, more than just a short film competition, ClujShorts will provide an exciting environment for discussion and debate. Further information on this year’s events will be provided. 4-10th of April will be a truly intense week!

Tickets are available at Cinema Victoria. For further information visit or follow us on facebook